Athletic and Coaches Information

falcon logo jpeg

SP Sports Information 2019-20

2019 Fall Coaches – Contact Information

Football – Jude Kelly:  860-584-0911 / jkelly@spchs.com

Girls Soccer – Jim Husbands:  860-480-2174 / jehusbands414@gmail.com

Boys Soccer – Victor Lira: 860-373-1781 / vjosuelira@hotmail.com

Girls Swimming – Meegan Martin: 860-940-8557 / mjames503@aol.com

Volleyball – Devin Pecevich: 860-940-7002 / devinpecevich@yahoo.com

Boys & Girls XC – Paul Gionfriddo: 860-810-2525 / paulfriddo@gmail.com  

Cheerleading – Heidi Matusik:  860-637-1242 / heidimatuski@gmail.com  

 

The first day of practice for fall sports will be Thursday, August 29th with the exception of football which begins with conditioning practice on August 19th & Cross Country on the 22nd.

Information will be posted on the school website with specific details and times regarding opening day / weekend practice schedules.  If you have any questions or your child is interested in playing a fall sport feel free to contact the coaches listed above directly or David Dennehy / Athletic Director @ 860-584-0911, ext 23 or ddennehy@spchs.com.

 

2018 Winter Coaches – Contact Information

Boys Basketball – Steve Phelps: sphelps@alliedinsurancectr.com

Bristol Swim co-op – Randy Doucette: prdoucette@snet.net

Girls Basketball – Joe Mone: ctmagic@comcast.net

Indoor Track – Jim Husbands: Jehusbands414@gmail.com

Wrestling – Ed DeSimas: edteamrambo@yahoo.com

Cheerleading – Heidi Matusik /  860-637-1243 /  heidimatusik@gmail.com

 

2019 Spring Coaches – Contact Information

Baseball –  Victor Rinaldi – victorrinaldi@yahoo.com

Softball – Gary Hovhanessian – garyhov@aol.com

Boys Lacrosse – Chris Kennedy – splaxcoach@gmail.com

Girls Lacrosse – Elaine Bowman – ebowman@spchs.com

Track & Field – Jim Husbands – jehusbands414@gmail.com

Girls Tennis – Beth Hines – bhines@cpa-ct.org

Boys Golf &  Girls Golf – John Odell & Ryan Philipp – soccerofficial@aol.com & philippryan615@yahoo.com

 

Don’t hesitate to contact any of the coaches with questions or contact David Dennehy / Athletic Director @ 860-584-0911, ext 23 or ddennehy@spchs.com.

Athletic Department Forms & Policies 

  1. Physical Form.  Students must have a new physical completed every 13 months.  Make sure your physical does not expire in the middle of a season – Physical forms must be handed into the school nurse!
  2. EACH SEASON – All students must hand in a St. Paul Athletic Permission Form / Concussion Education Plan and Consent Form / & a Cardiac Arrest Education Plan and Consent Form signed and dated by the athlete & their parent/guardian.  These forms must be handed into the coach! Please hand in all 3 stapled together.
  3. All freshmen must take a Baseline Concussion Test (the baseline test needs to be updated during the students junior year).

 

College academic eligibility tool for high school student athletes.
Students can obtain the St. Paul Member Name & Password from the guidance office.
https://www.clearinghousecalculator.org/login.php

 

Article from: High School Today – Parents Play Crucial Role in Helping Students Achieve Success.
Click here for article

Wrestler Families
Wrestling skin issues information. The following is information on the NFHS webinar. Visit www.nfhs.org, click on Activities and Sports and then click on Wrestling. Go to Wrestling Resources and then open the NWCA Skin Infection Webinar.

Athletic Schedule Information

The most accurate way to check on schedules & game changes is through the CIAC website – http://ciacsports.com  (you can sign up for email & text updates / alerts).