Athletic and Coaches Information

falcon logo jpeg

SP Sports Information 2018-19

Official Start date for Fall sports is Thursday, August 23rd, with the exception of football which officially begins on Friday, August 17th.  

Next baseline concussion testing date/testing is Thursday, August 23rd at 9:00 a.m.
This is required for 
all new & incoming students as well as Juniors who are planning to
participate in St. Paul athletics.

2018 Fall Coaches – Contact Information

Football – Jude Kelly:  860-584-0911 / jkelly@spchs.com

Girls Soccer – Jim Husbands:  860-480-2174 / jehusbands414@gmail.com

Boys Soccer – Victor Lira:  860-373-1781 / vjosuelira@hotmail.com

Girls Swimming – Meegan Martin: 860-940-8557 / mjames503@aol.com

Volleyball – Devin Pecevich: 860-940-7002/ devinpecevich@yahoo.com

Boys & Girls XC – Paul Gionfriddo: 860-810-2525 / paulfriddo@gmail.com 

Cheerleading – Elizabeth Zasso:  860-810-3149 / ezasso@spchs.com 

 

2018 Winter Coaches – Contact Information

Boys Basketball – Steve Phelps: sphelps@alliedinsurancectr.com

Bristol Swim co-op – Randy Doucette: prdoucette@snet.net

Girls Basketball – Joe Mone: ctmagic@comcast.net

Indoor Track – Jim Husbands: Jehusbands414@gmail.com

Wrestling – Ed DeSimas: edteamrambo@yahoo.com

 

2019 Spring Coaches – Contact Information

Baseball –  Victor Rinaldi – victorrinaldi@yahoo.com

Softball – Gary Hovhanessian – garyhov@aol.com

Boys Lacrosse – Chris Kennedy – splaxcoach@gmail.com

Girls Lacrosse – Elaine Bowman – ebowman@spchs.com

Track & Field – Jim Husbands – jehusbands414@gmail.com

Girls Tennis – Beth Hines – bhines@cpa-ct.org

Boys Golf &  Girls Golf – John Odell & Ryan Philipp – soccerofficial@aol.com & philippryan615@yahoo.com

 

Don’t hesitate to contact any of the coaches with questions or contact David Dennehy / Athletic Director @ 860-584-0911, ext 23 or ddennehy@spchs.com.

 

Athletic Department Forms & Policies 

  1. Physical Form.  Students must have a new physical completed every 13 months.  Make sure your physical does not expire in the middle of a season – Physical forms must be handed into the school nurse!
  2. EACH SEASON – All students must hand in a St. Paul Athletic Permission Form / Concussion Education Plan and Consent Form / & a Cardiac Arrest Education Plan and Consent Form signed and dated by the athlete & their parent/guardian.  These forms must be handed into the coach! Please hand in all 3 stapled together.
  3. All freshmen must take a Baseline Concussion Test (the baseline test needs to be updated during the students junior year).

Article from: High School Today – Parents Play Crucial Role in Helping Students Achieve Success.
Click here for article

Wrestler Families
Wrestling skin issues information. The following is information on the NFHS webinar. Visit www.nfhs.org, click on Activities and Sports and then click on Wrestling. Go to Wrestling Resources and then open the NWCA Skin Infection Webinar.

Athletic Schedule Information

The most accurate way to check on schedules & game changes is through the CIAC website – http://ciacsports.com  (you can sign up for email & text updates / alerts).